Parralox - Lyrics (Official Website)

Parralox - Tom Baker

Tom Baker

Written by Philip Oakey and Philip Adrian Wright.

[ D84 > SV7 ]

Title Tom Baker
Songwriter   Philip Oakey and Philip Adrian Wright
Vocalist   John von Ahlen
Backing Vocals    
Production #   235
Engineer   Juan del Toro
Producer   John von Ahlen
Dedicated to   Steve Pemberton
Studio   Subterrane Recording Studio
Software   Cubase
Instruments   Linn Drum LM1, Fairlight CMI IIx, Arturia Matrix Brute, Moog Voyager II, Roland Jupiter 4 and Jupiter 8, Oberheim OBX-a, Sequential Circuits Prophet 5.
Time   4:11
BPM   90
Copyright   Subterrane Records 2022
Appears on   Available only on Bandcamp SubscriptionsParralox - Travelogue (Album)Parralox - Tom Baker (Single)

Additional Info:

Recorded for our cover of the classic Travelogue album, which The Human League originally released in 1979.
Released on Compact Disc on conzoom Records. The Deluxe Edition includes 3 Limited Edition CDs.

Cover image is courtesy of Christopher Hart aka Juan del Toro, and modified by John von Ahlen
Photo taken in Cardiff when Chris and John visited the now defunct Doctor Who Experience (back when Doctor Who had amazing stories before Chinball and Whittaker fucked it up). Seven different variations of Cover Art were created for this song.

Parralox - 235 - Tom Baker

Wednesday 30th of December, 2020
2137 hours.
Woke up in the morning and watched North by Northwest.
I dropped off Jack at Sharyns at 1130.
Then I went to Muay Thai, and afterwards I picked up Jack and Fritz and we walked to the post office and then around the city.
I dropped off Fritz and came back to the studio and did some more website work.
Louise Love came to the studio around 1830 and we walked around looking for somewhere new to eat.
Came back from a lovely dinner with Louise Love. We looked for somewhere different to go, but ended up at Shandong Mama. I had the Black Fungus Salad as usual, plus the egg Omellette.
We picked up Jack from Sharyns and I walked Louise back to her car. Jack and I then walked around the city and then back to the studio.
Watched a little Alfred Hitchcock (Family Plot) and then found myself in the studio and working on this song. I guess this movie wasn't holding my interest, even though I've seen it before a very long time ago. I normally watch at least one Hitchcock movie every few weeks at the very least!
Anyway, on with the music.

Thursday 1st of July, 2021
0845 hours. Just finished V7 of Dreams of Leaving. It's definitely finished.
Thought I would try and finish off Tom Baker now. I was up to V2, which turned into a sort of Orhcestral version. I sent it to Koen and he prefers V1, and I think I agree, so I'm going to go back to that one and finish it off. I knew I wanted to somehow incorporate some of the Original Doctor Who theme by Peter Howell, especially the growly Moog bass.
It's not like I don't have a few Moogs in the studio already, but I want the song to have some sort of actual DNA inside it that you can't quite put your finger on, so I've extracted a sample of the bass note from the theme.
As long as BBC legal can't quite put their fingers on it either, we are all good!

Parralox - Tom Baker



Comprehensive list of all Parralox lyrics, including links to music videos, online stores and extra information for each song.
Choose a song title from the list below to view the lyrics of that song.

Order Parralox - Travelogue (Limited Edition) Compact Disc at conzoom Records

Parralox - Travelogue (Compact Disc)CD - Parralox - Travelogue

Tracklist :
01 The Black Hit of Space
02 Only After Dark*
03 Life Kills
04 Dreams of Leaving
05 Toyota City

06 Crow and a Baby
07 The Touchables
08 Gordon's Gin**
09 Being Boiled
10 WXJL Tonight

Bonus Tracks
11 Marianne
12 Dancevision
13 Rock 'n' Roll/Nightclubbing
14 Tom Baker
15 Boys and Girls
16 I Don't Depend On You
17 Cruel

Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Remixes) (Compact Disc)Bonus CD1 - Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Remixes) (Limited Edition)

Tracklist :
01 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Radio Mix)
02 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Club Mix)
03 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Lament)
04 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Defective Dub)
05 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Radio Mix Instrumental)
06 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Club Mix Instrumental)
07 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Lament Instrumental)
08 Parralox - Hotter (Luminiferous Defective Dub Instrumental)

* All previously unreleased on CD

Parralox - Remix Series - DMT Berzerk 2 (Compact Disc)
Bonus CD2 - Parralox - Remix Series - DMT Berzerk 2 (Limited Edition)

Tracklist :
01 Parralox - New Light (DMT Berzerk Remix)
02 Parralox - Lullaby (DMT Berzerk Remix)
03 Parralox - Cadenas de Oro (DMT Berzerk Remix)
04 Parralox - New Light (DMT Berzerk Remix Instrumental)
05 Parralox - Lullaby (DMT Berzerk Remix Instrumental)
06 Parralox - Cadenas de Oro (DMT Berzerk Remix Instrumental)
07 Parralox - New Light (DMT Berzerk Extended Remix)
08 Parralox - Lullaby (DMT Berzerk Extended Remix)
09 Parralox - Cadenas de Oro (DMT Berzerk Extended Remix)

* All previously unreleased on CD


Parralox - Megamix 2017 (Compact Disc)
Bonus CD3 - Parralox - Megamix 2019 (Limited Edition)

Tracklist :
01 Wildlife (7th Heaven Club Mix)
02 Sharp as a Knife
03 Crying on the Dancefloor feat. Francine (7th Heaven Club Mix)
04 Don’t Talk About Love (Nicolas Reeves Remix)
05 Eye in the Sky (Purechild + Stereolove Remix)
06 Creep (Cosmic Dawn Remix Extended)
07 Aeronaut (Rich B & Phil Marriott Club Mix)
08 Electric Nights (7th Heaven Remix Extended)
09 New Light (Rotersand Vs Timo Van Laak Rework)

Megamix by Costa Lakoumentas

Order Parralox - Travelogue (Limited Edition) Compact Disc at conzoom Records